Skip to Main Content

Recommended Internet Sources: Science

DISCLAIMER

The Tate Librarians have set up links to Internet sources maintained by third parties. The Librarians and ECFS are not responsible for the content of any site you have connected to using these links. The Tate Library does not endorse any linked site or imply that the information on the linked site is entirely error-free, correct, accurate or reliable.

MAKE Magazine

MAKE Magazine
DIY projects in electronics, robotics, arduino, machining, woodworking,3-D printing, sewing, knitting, papercrafts and more.

Science Daily

Science Daily
Daily online magazine and web portal devoted to science, technology, and medicine. Keyword searchable.

U.S. Naval Observatory Astronomical Applications

U.S. Naval Observatory Astronomical Applications
Sun and Moon rise and set times, Moon phases, eclipses, seasons, positions of solar system objects, and other data. Information on common astronomical phenomena, calendars and time. "In the sky this week"

Realtime Wind Map

Realtime Wind Map
visual map of the wind created using surface wind data from the National Digital Forecast Database

Popular Science

Popular Science
The web version of Popular Science Magazine

MadSciNet

MadSciNet
“A collective cranium of scientists providing answers to your questions”. Includes “Ask a Scientist” with searchable archive of science questions, “Mad lab” of science experiments, and “MadSci” search engine

WorldWideScience

WorldWideScience
Search engine maintained by the US DOE's Office of Science that searches only nationally sponsored science websites in more than 71 countries. Multi-lingual searching and translation.

Chemistry & Structures & 3D Molecules

Chemistry & Structures & 3D Molecules
This web site highlights areas of the chemical world. Has a section on Molecules of the Month, an A to Z Index of Structures, a Library of Inorganic Structures (over 1600 structures), and an Interactive 3D Periodic Table. Uses Jmol Java technology to display the models.

Pictures of Science: 700 Years of Scientific and Medical Illustration

Pictures of Science: 700 Years of Scientific and Medical Illustration
(NYPL Digital Library) Hundreds of images from the thirteenth through the early twentieth century, in the fields of astronomy, chemistry, geology, mathematics, medicine, and physics, as represented by manuscript illuminations, engravings, lithographs, and photographs.

Nature Illustrated: Flowers, Plants, and Trees, 1550-1900

Nature Illustrated: Flowers, Plants, and Trees, 1550-1900
(NYPL Digital Library) Thousands of art and scientific prints, illustrating medicinal plants, spectacular garden flowers, exotic tropical blooms, trees and ferns. Includes many different printmaking techniques, from woodcuts to stipple engravings to color-printed lithographs.

Classic Illustrated Zoologies and Related Works, 1550-1900

Classic Illustrated Zoologies and Related Works, 1550-1900
(NYPL Digital Library) Illustrated books from the 16th century to the early 20th depicting the fish, birds, and animals of the world.

National Geographic Science and Space

National Geographic Science and Space
Innovation and technology, archaeology, earth, health and human Body, prehistoric world, space, photos,videos, news

Space Log

Space Log
Primary Source Original transcripts of selected U.S. Space flights. Click through the transcript to read the major events of the flight. Click through the phases and maps of the flights. Historical background on the flights and biographical information on the pilots. The Transcript is fully searchable by keyword

National Science Digital Library

National Science Digital Library
Digital texts, images, videos and audio files. Searchable by content, format and grade level (K-Graduate School).

PLANTS Database

PLANTS Database
(USDA) standardized information about the vascular plants, mosses, liverworts, hornworts, and lichens of the U.S. and its territories

SciSeek Science Online

SciSeek Science Online
Search engine devoted to science content. Searchable and browsable.

Science.gov

Science.gov
Authoritative, selected science information provided by U.S. Government agencies. Including research and development results.

U.S. Energy Information Administration

U.S. Energy Information Administration
Just about everything you need to know about the state of energy in the U.S. and the word - graphs, statistics, maps, articles, sources, uses, economics, outlook, alternatives, etc. Special page for teachers and students

NOAA's National Weather Service

NOAA's National Weather Service
Weather maps, forcasts and warnings.

Wired Magazine

Wired Magazine
Digital version of the popular science and technology publication

PubMedCentral

PubMedCentral
Free archive of biomedical and life sciences journal literature at the U.S. National Institutes of Health's National Library of Medicine