Recommended Internet Sources: Foreign Languages

Multi-lingual Harper Collins; Definitions and synonyms in English, French, Spanish, Italian, German, Russian, Chinese and Portuguese. Translation in French, Spanish, German, Italian, Russian, Portuguese, Chinese, Arabic, Hebrew and Japanese.

Multi-lingual Free digital books for ages 3-13 in many foreign languages and in English. Search by language, reading level, topic. Requires a Java plug-in available on the site.

Multi-lingual Free epub and kindle books, download them or read them online. Many foreign language texts. Searchable by keyword, subject tree, language, new acquisitions, popular titles, and a full text and/or metadata search.

Primary Sources An immense resource. Maps, documents, statistics, laws, current events, archives. Listings of New York missions of the member states. Information on peace and security, climate change, sustainability, development, human rights, international law, economics and business

Chinese classics with each character hyperlinked to its definition and etymology. No Chinese software is necessary - characters are displayed as images. Links to English translations are included for most works.

Chinese Contains the complete text of : Chinese Characters: A Genealogy and Dictionary (Yale Univ. Press) using a character tree system. No Chinese software is necessary - characters are displayed as images. Also has links to other Chinese language sites.

Chinese Consular affairs, news, China-U.S. relations

Spanish A library of books in Spanish. Sections on Generalities, Literature, History, Hispano Americana, Children’s and Young Adult books. Also a unique virtual Sign-Language selection.

Spanish free version of the Oxford Spanish Dictionary.

French Texts in the public domain. Alphabetic title and author index, full text searchable, also has a dictionary.

French Literature written in French and/or written by French authors. Some texts are translated into French from other languages. Indexed by type and by author.

French Online daily newspaper, in French

Latin and Greek A library of texts and Art from the classical era. Latin, Greek, Germanic, Anglo, Gallic, Hispanic, Italian, Polonic, Russic, Iidic, and Lusitanic authors.

Latin Classical Latin texts.

Latin From the Univ. of Notre Dame Archives

Latin and Greek Texts as well as lexicons and translation tools.