Recommended Internet Sources: Geography & World History

Websites chosen and indexed by historians of the U.S National Archives. Links to cartography, gazetteers, maps, city plans, trip routers, flags and time information.

Classic physical and political maps of the world in digital form. Zoom in and out to get the perfect view and print.

Digital copies of historical maps from the NYPL's collections. Many are"warped" to digitally align with modern maps.

Use the large statistical categories found at the top of the page (people, business, geography, data)to start searching for specific data sets.

(Fordham University) Primary Sources Weblinks for for historical sources on the history of human societies in East Asia

(Primary Sources) Library's publicly available digital collections. Subject tree begins with the categories of American History, Arts & Culture, Government, Law & Politics, Maps & Geography, News, Journalism & Advertising, Religion & Philosophy, Science, Technology & Business, Sports, Recreation & Leisure and World History & Cultures

(Fordham University) Primary Sources Weblinks for historical sources on the history of Latin America

(Fordham University) Primary Sources Weblinks for historical sources on the history of Latin America

(Fordham University) Primary Sources Weblinks for historical sources on the history of Latin America

(Univ. of Wisconsin) Primary Sources Archival documents covering the Colonial period and 19th and 20th centuries. Digitized from a variety of formats including books and manuscripts.

(FAMSI) A clickable outline of Mesoamerican history with lots of illustrations by the Curator of the Art Museum at Princeton University and an eminent authority on American Indian civilizations

Good size articles with subject links to timelines, maps, interactives, articles, images and web pages.

Primary Sources Digitized documents relevant to the fields of Law, History, Economics, Politics, Diplomacy and Government. With links to supporting documents expressly referred to in the body of the text. Arranged by century. Also Linked to DIANA, Yale’s Human Rights Archive of legal cases and documents.

Primary Sources Eyewitness accounts of historical events from ancient times to modern. Searchable and browsable.

(Metropolitan Museum of Art) World Maps, Timelines, Essays, Works of Art. Browse works of art by subject, artist or work. Browse timeline periods from 20,000 BC – present. Browse Essays by subject. Select maps by time period and world region. Keyword search option that brings up hits in all categories.

Primary Sources Index to historical collections that exist in digital format. including texts, audio, moving images, and software as well as archived web pages.

(Fordham University) Primary Sources Weblinks that have been vetted by historians. Go through the pages by time-period, continent, and cultural affiliation.

Primary Sources Library's publicly available digital collections. Subject tree begins with the categories of American History, Arts & Culture, Government, Law & Politics, Maps & Geography, News, Journalism & Advertising, Religion & Philosophy, Science, Technology & Business, Sports, Recreation & Leisure and World History & Cultures

Primary Sources Artifacts, Documents, Audio, Video, and more. Good for world history topics involving British Colonies and Conflicts, WWI and WWII.

(Univ. of Texas at Austin) Latin American web resources organized by country and by subject

Primary Sources Library's publicly available digital collections. Subject tree begins with the categories of American History, Arts & Culture, Government, Law & Politics, Maps & Geography, News, Journalism & Advertising, Religion & Philosophy, Science, Technology & Business, Sports, Recreation & Leisure and World History & Cultures

Primary Sources Information on member states, topical issues, news, speeches, publications, documents and more.

(Fordham University) Primary Sources Weblinks for historical sources on the history of human societies in the continent of Africa

(Univ. of Wisconsin) Primary Sources Published materials as well as archival documents. The items were digitized from a variety of formats including books, manuscripts, sound recordings, photographs, maps, and other resources.

Primary Sources Library's publicly available digital collections. Subject tree begins with the categories of American History, Arts & Culture, Government, Law & Politics, Maps & Geography, News, Journalism & Advertising, Religion & Philosophy, Science, Technology & Business, Sports, Recreation & Leisure and World History & Cultures

The crisis revolving around race relations in America and the recent events surrounding this crisis has made the Hein Company rethink the idea of financially profiting from the sale of a collection on slavery. Hein has decided to provide it free to anyone with an interest in the subject: libraries, institutions, students, and researchers....

Primary Sources a directory of primary and secondary electronic sources in European History. Pre-history to Current. Subject tree starting by country and keyword search.

Primary Sources A searchable access point to millions of books, paintings, films, museum objects and archival records that have been digitised throughout Europe. Keyword search that can be filtered by media type, language, date, country, and collection.

(Primary Sources) Artifacts, Documents, Audio, Video, and more. Good for British, Scottish and Irish History topicts. British Colonies and Conflicts. WWI and WWII.

Resource for primary source material - especially letters/documents from WW I

A collection of original historical materials documenting German history from the beginning of the early modern period to the present, including Nazi Germany. Includes primary documents, images and links to additional websites