Tate Library: Science Resources: Databases (Articles)

Science Databases

Science This link opens in a new window
Password: empirelink
A collection of over 1,000 peer-reviewed journals, providing researchers with the information needed to stay current on the latest scientific developments.
Environmental Studies and Policy This link opens in a new window
Password: empirelink
Nearly 200 journals on environmental issues and policy, including perspectives from the scientific community, governmental policy makers, as well as corporate interests.
Agriculture This link opens in a new window
Password: empirelink
Nearly 200 titles on agriculture and its related fields, from practical aspects of farming to cutting edge scientific research in horticulture.
Gardening and Horticulture This link opens in a new window
Password: empirelink
Nearly 50 journals focused specifically on key issues in gardening, landscaping, and other areas of horticulture, includes content relating to both the practical aspects as well as the scientific theory of horticulture studies.
Academic One File This link opens in a new window
Password: empirelink
Complete source for peer-reviewed scholarly articles across all academic disciplines

More Databases

eLibrary This link opens in a new window
Newspapers, magazines,books, maps, pictures, video, TV/radio transcripts and a reference center with dictionaries, thesauri, atlases, and almanacs
Opposing Viewpoints This link opens in a new window
Password: empirelink
Devoted to exploring social and ethical issues. Academic journals, magazines, reference, essays, multimedia, primary sources, statistics, websites. Search through a topic list or by keyword.

Off Campus Access

When accessing certain databases from off campus, you will see this prompt: login with the first part of your ECFS email address (leaving off the @ecfs.org) and your regular password

Science magazines via Proquest Database

Science periodicals available via the ProQuest Database:

Nature Magazine - 1990 - present (1 year delay) PDF/Full Text

Science - 1988 - 2005 Full Text

1986 - present Citation/Abstract

NO full text available after 2005 - but print is available in the library

Science News 1992 - present Full Text

1986 - present Citation/Abstract

Proquest Periodicals This link opens in a new window
New York Times, New York Times Historical, Wall Street Journal, Los Angeles Times, Other Major U.S. Newspapers International English Language Newspapers, plus over a thousand popular and academic journals and a collection of reference books. NOTE: newspapers from the 1850's

National Geographic Online Access

National Geographic Virtual Library This link opens in a new window
Password: library
National Geographic Virtual Library is a cross-searchable platform with 100+ years of National Geographic content and publications.

National Geographic Website
Please note that content from the website can differ from content available in the print edition.
Nat Geo Website : Login and Password

New York Times Online

New York Times Online
Create an account with the link above.

Science Magazines via JSTOR

There is access to older science magazines using JStor:

Science 1880 - 2014 Full Text

Science News 1966 - 2014 Full Text

Scientific American 1845 - 2105 Full Text

Scientific American Mind 2004 - 2015 Full Text

JSTOR Scholarly Periodicals/ArtStor Images This link opens in a new window
JSTOR provides access to thousands of high-quality academic journals, plus books and primary sources in the humanities, social sciences, and sciences. - Be aware of the “Moving Wall” delay with this resource.

JStor also has journals like these:

GeoJournal

Global Environment

Natural Resources & Environment

Water Environment & Technology

International Institute for Sustainable Development

Questions?

Email a Librarian!

Ms. Locher: clocher@ecfs.org

Ms. Elwood: celwood@ecfs.org

Ms. Colgan: mcolgan@ecfs.org