Tate Library: Grade 8 : Ancient / Medieval Civilizations: Home

Civilizations

Ancient Aztecs (Mexico)
Ancient Inca/Inka (modern-day Peru)
Ancient Mayans (Mexico and Central America)
Ancient/Medieval Japan (Jomon, Yayoi, Kofun, Asuka)
Ancient/Medieval India (Harappan)
Early Malay Kingdoms (in Cambodia and Java)
Ancient Nubia/Ancient Kush (modern-day Sudan)
Ancient Songhai (modern-day Mali)
Ancient Axum (modern-day Ethiopia)
Ancient China
Ancient Ghana
Ancient Greece
Ancient Persian Empire (modern day Iran)
Kushan Empire (modern day Afghanistan, Pakistan)

Questions?

Email a Librarian!

Ms. Locher: clocher@ecfs.org

Ms. Elwood: celwood@ecfs.org

Ms. Colgan: mcolgan@ecfs.org

NoodleTools

NoodleTools Log In
Sign in by clicking on the "G" for Google
more...less...
NoodleTools is a subscription based citation tool. All ECFS students have an Institutional account.

Encyclopedias

Encyclopedia Britannica This link opens in a new window
Accurate, current, and comprehensive resource for college-level learners, researchers, and faculty.

eBooks

eBook Academic Collection (EBSCOhost) This link opens in a new window
This robust collection contains more than 200,000 multidisciplinary e-books representing a broad range of academic subject matter.

Off Campus Access

When accessing certain databases from off campus, you will see this prompt: login with the first part of your ECFS email address (leaving off the @ecfs.org) and your regular password

Tate Library Catalog

Find Books Here

Library Databases

Great Lives and Great Events This link opens in a new window
Comprehensive reference set that searches by name and event from the ancient world to the 20th Century, Decades in America series and includes “Notorious” Lives and LGBT events.
JSTOR Scholarly Periodicals/ArtStor Images This link opens in a new window
JSTOR provides access to thousands of high-quality academic journals, plus books and primary sources in the humanities, social sciences, and sciences. - Be aware of the “Moving Wall” delay with this resource.
Academic One File This link opens in a new window
Password: empirelink
Complete source for peer-reviewed scholarly articles across all academic disciplines
World History This link opens in a new window
Password: empirelink
This collection provides overage of both the current thinking and events in World History, as well as scholarly work being established in the field. Useful both to the novice historian as well as to the advanced academic researcher.
Proquest Periodicals This link opens in a new window
New York Times, New York Times Historical, Wall Street Journal, Los Angeles Times, Other Major U.S. Newspapers International English Language Newspapers, plus over a thousand popular and academic journals and a collection of reference books. NOTE: newspapers from the 1850's
eLibrary This link opens in a new window
Newspapers, magazines,books, maps, pictures, video, TV/radio transcripts and a reference center with dictionaries, thesauri, atlases, and almanacs

What is a Database?

Books / Course Materials List

New York Public Library

NYPL Catalog
Browse the NYPL Catalog for books, eBooks and audiobooks
NYPL E-Book Central
Search for eBooks and get a simplyE card

Tate Library Catalog

Find Books Here

Ancient - General

500 Things to Know about the Ancient World by Carolyn Howitt
Call Number: 930 HOW
Ancient Civilizations - Almanac by Judson Knight; Stacy A. McConnell (Editor); Lawrence W. Baker
Call Number: REF 930 ANC vol. 1 & vol. 2
This volume provides historical information and interpretation on ancient civilizations in Egypt, Mesopotamia, Asia Minor, China, Africa, Israel, and elsewhere.
Ancient Computing Technology by Michael Woods; Mary B. Woods
Call Number: 609 WOO
Ancient cultures measured time accurately with water clocks. An engineer in the first century B.C. designed an odometer to calculate distance traveled. People computed the first values of pi about four thousand years ago. Learn how ancient computing set the stage for our own modern computing technology.

eBooks

eBook Academic Collection (EBSCOhost) This link opens in a new window
This robust collection contains more than 200,000 multidisciplinary e-books representing a broad range of academic subject matter.

Ancient General

Ancient Warfare by Mary B. Woods; Michael Woods
Call Number: 355.8 WOO
Ancient Technology provides a fascinating look at a particular area of technology as it developed in ancient times, from the first humans to the fall of the Western Roman Empire in A.D. 476. Each chapter covers a different ancient civilization, beginning with Stone Age cultures and progressing chronologically through others, such as the ancient Middle East, Egypt, China, Mesoamerica, Greece, Rome, and India.
A Cultural History of Women in Antiquity
Call Number: 305.4 CUL
Publication Date: 2015-05-01
A Cultural History of Women in Antiquity explores women's history in the West from 500 BCE to 1000CE. This time period includes women's participation in Greek and Roman civilization, and the Christianization of the Roman Empire up to Late Antiquity.